The Best Diapers for Newborns
How to pick the right newborn fit and avoid spending money on wasted boxes.
Pampers Swaddlers and Huggies Little Snugglers compared on blowout protection, the cord notch, sizing and ingredient claims.
Neither Huggies nor Pampers wins outright. At New Parent Picks, we read the published manufacturer specifications, safety standards and owner reports for both brands. Both newborn lines, Pampers Swaddlers and Huggies Little Snugglers, have a color-changing wetness indicator and a blowout feature, and both makers say these diapers are fragrance free. Since the spec sheets match on those basics, how each one fits your baby decides it. Buy the smallest pack of each before you stock up.
Huggies is a Kimberly-Clark brand, and Pampers is a Procter & Gamble brand. Both makers sell more than one line, including a sensitive-skin diaper, and both start their newborn lines at Preemie.
The mechanical differences between Huggies and Pampers center on where blowout blockers sit across the size range, how umbilical cord protection is documented, and how far the sizing scales run. Pampers includes its Blowout Barrier starting in size 1 and extends Swaddlers up to size 8. Huggies places a front and back blowout blocker on Little Snugglers exclusively in sizes 1 and 2, while running that line from Preemie through size 6.
| Feature | Huggies Little Snugglers | Pampers Swaddlers |
|---|---|---|
| Parent Company | Kimberly-Clark | Procter & Gamble |
| Newborn Premium Line | Little Snugglers | Swaddlers |
| Sensitive Skin Line | Skin Essentials | AMORE |
| Wetness Indicator | Color-changing wetness indicator on every diaper | pH-sensitive material that changes color when wet with urine |
| Blowout Protection | Front and back blowout blocker in sizes 1 and 2 only | Blowout Barrier in size 1 and larger |
| Umbilical Cord Feature | Not listed on the Little Snugglers page | Umbilical cord notch on newborn diapers |
| Liner Technology | GentleAbsorb Liner (Preemie to 2), FastAbsorb (size 3 and up) | Not stated on the Swaddlers page |
| Sizing Availability | Preemie through size 6 | Preemie, Newborn, and sizes 1 through 8 |
| Fragrance Status | Brand states it is the only leading brand entirely fragrance free | Pampers states Swaddlers are now fragrance free |
| Cost Comparison Method | Divide shelf price by count to get unit price | Divide shelf price by count to get unit price |
| Overall Verdict | Best for front and back protection in early infant sizes | Best for upper size range and umbilical cord notch |
Umbilical care matters at the newborn stage. Pampers says Swaddlers have an “umbilical cord notch that prevents irritation and allows the stump to heal properly.” The official documentation on the Huggies Little Snugglers product page does not list an umbilical cord cutout feature.
Blowout containment mechanisms also diverge by size placement. Huggies includes dual containment by placing both a front and back blowout blocker inside Little Snugglers, but limits that feature specifically to sizes 1 and 2. Huggies publishes a claim of up to 100% blowout and leak protection for this setup. Pampers puts its Blowout Barrier on Swaddlers from size 1 up.
The two lines also run to different sizes. Huggies Little Snugglers stops at size 6. Pampers Swaddlers runs across Preemie, Newborn, and numbered sizes 1 through 8, offering a single continuous line for families who prefer not to alter brands as their baby grows.
The two brands also list different exclusions. Huggies specifies that Little Snugglers are hypoallergenic, free of fragrance, parabens, and elemental chlorine, and made without lotions, phthalates, and natural rubber latex. Huggies says it is “the only leading brand entirely fragrance free.” Pampers publishes that Swaddlers are hypoallergenic, free of elemental chlorine, parabens, and latex, and Pampers lists Swaddlers as now fragrance free.
Huggies lists a blowout blocker at both the front and the back of Little Snugglers in sizes 1 and 2. If blowouts are your main worry at those sizes, that two-sided blocker is the Huggies feature to weigh against Pampers’ Blowout Barrier.
Huggies uses its GentleAbsorb Liner in Little Snugglers sizes Preemie to 2 and switches to a FastAbsorb system from size 3.
For families focused on skin sensitivities, the broader Huggies catalog includes Huggies Skin Essentials. Huggies says Skin Essentials has a “clinically proven zinc oxide-enriched liner” to help reduce irritation from mess, and labels it not for therapeutic use. Huggies also calls Skin Essentials dermatologist approved and lists a 100% breathable outer cover. Skin Essentials is made without fragrances, phthalates, parabens, elemental chlorine, lotion and natural rubber latex, according to Huggies.
The primary limitation of Little Snugglers is its narrower size availability and the abrupt drop-off of the front blowout blocker. Once your baby graduates out of size 2, the front containment blocker disappears from the spec sheet. Furthermore, the entire Little Snugglers line concludes at size 6, which prevents parents from keeping older toddlers in the same familiar model.
Pampers calls Swaddlers “the best-selling newborn diaper in the U.S.” That is Pampers’ own sales claim. Swaddlers’ clearest newborn feature is the umbilical cord notch, which the Little Snugglers page does not list.
The wetness indicator on Swaddlers uses a pH-sensitive strip that reacts to urine by shifting color.
Pampers also provides an extended size pathway. Because Swaddlers run from Preemie through size 8, you can stay in one Pampers line two sizes past where Little Snugglers stops.
Pampers describes its Pure Protection diaper as “fragrance and paraben-free” and “hypoallergenic and dermatologically tested.” The Pure Protection product URL now redirects to Pampers AMORE, which Pampers says is hypoallergenic, “free of fragrance, parabens, elemental chlorine and latex (no natural rubber)” and accredited by the Skin Health Alliance.
Swaddlers’ tradeoff is that the Blowout Barrier starts at size 1, so the Preemie and Newborn sizes go without it. Huggies lists Little Snugglers as made without lotions and phthalates, and the Swaddlers page does not state either.
Our sources publish no diaper prices for either brand, so run the cost math yourself.
To determine what is cheaper between Huggies and Pampers, you must calculate the cost per diaper using basic math:
Run the same math on the other brand, using the same size and the same line, such as Swaddlers against Little Snugglers. Comparing a sensitive-skin line with a newborn line, or a Newborn box with a size 3 box, gives a misleading answer. For more newborn options, see our picks for the best diapers for newborns.
Pick Huggies Little Snugglers if you want:
Huggies Little Snugglers is not the right choice for families who want a built-in umbilical cord cutout on newborn diapers, or for parents who want a single diaper line that carries their child past size 6.
Pick Pampers Swaddlers if you want:
Pampers Swaddlers is not the right choice for parents who want a blowout blocker at both the front and the back, or for those who want verified lotion-free disclosures directly on the standard product spec sheet.
If you want cloth diapers, neither brand’s lines on this page apply. Any rash or redness that worries you belongs with your baby’s pediatrician rather than a new box of diapers.
This side-by-side comparison would change if either Kimberly-Clark or Procter & Gamble revised its technical specifications or safety documentation. If Huggies introduced an umbilical cord notch on Little Snugglers, it would remove Pampers’ primary mechanical advantage at the newborn stage. That update would make Huggies the more feature-rich newborn option due to its front and back blockers.
Conversely, if Pampers incorporated its Blowout Barrier into its Newborn size rather than starting at size 1, Pampers would gain the upper hand for early infant leak containment. The answer would also change if either maker altered its fragrance formulations or dropped its hypoallergenic claims.
Changes in sizing scales could also shift the recommendation. If Huggies extended Little Snugglers into sizes 7 and 8, parents seeking long-term continuity would have no reason to prefer Pampers for older toddlers. Until those specification updates happen, the recommendation remains split between Huggies’ dual blockers and Pampers’ umbilical notch and size range.
Before purchasing multi-month supplies for your nursery, create a testing routine with your baby. Start by purchasing one small package of Huggies Little Snugglers and one small package of Pampers Swaddlers. Track which one leaks less overnight and which one stays put on your baby.
Our newborn diaper size chart shows when to move up a size. For skin concerns, see our guide to diapers for sensitive skin. To estimate how many diapers you need each week, use our breakdown of how many diapers a newborn uses each day. More newborn lists are in our checklists hub.
Once you identify which diaper prevents leaks on your baby, use the per-unit math formula to buy that specific brand in larger quantities.
Pampers calls Swaddlers “the best-selling newborn diaper in the U.S.” That is Pampers’ own claim, and our sources carry no independent sales ranking. Huggies, a Kimberly-Clark brand, makes a different headline claim: it says it is “the only leading brand entirely fragrance free.”
Neither diaper brand is universally best because performance depends on how the diaper fits your baby’s body. Both Huggies Little Snugglers and Pampers Swaddlers have color-changing wetness indicators, and both makers call these diapers hypoallergenic and fragrance free. Huggies offers dual front and back blowout blockers in sizes 1 and 2, while Pampers offers an umbilical cord notch in newborn sizes and an extended size range through size 8.
Each brand publishes its own ingredient exclusions, and neither list supports calling one diaper less toxic. Huggies says Little Snugglers are hypoallergenic, free of fragrance, parabens and elemental chlorine, and made without lotions, phthalates and natural rubber latex. Pampers says Swaddlers are hypoallergenic, free of elemental chlorine, parabens and latex, and now fragrance free. The Swaddlers page does not state lotion-free or phthalate-free status.
Our sources carry no usage or market-share figures for either brand. Pampers calls Swaddlers “the best-selling newborn diaper in the U.S.,” which is Pampers’ own claim rather than an independent count. Huggies’ main claim is about fragrance: it says it is “the only leading brand entirely fragrance free.”
Whether Pampers or Huggies is better depends on the specific features your baby requires. Pampers Swaddlers is better for parents who want a pre-cut umbilical cord notch for newborns and an extended size range up to size 8. Huggies Little Snugglers is better for parents who want dual front and back blowout blockers in sizes 1 and 2, and who prefer explicit lotion-free and phthalate-free ingredient documentation.
Before purchasing your nursery supply, check the current product label, ingredient list, and retail price directly on the Huggies website and the Pampers website.
How to pick the right newborn fit and avoid spending money on wasted boxes.
Compare published material claims across fragrance-free diaper lines and learn which diapering habits prevent irritation.
Plan your newborn diaper stash without buying too many boxes of early sizes.
Diaper weight labels overlap, so waist fit and leg seals determine the size.